Here’s What Prince Harry and Meghan Markle’s Wedding Day Was Like

THE ENGAGEMENT AND WEDDING RINGS

Shortly after Meghan and Harry announced their plans to marry on November 27, we got our first look at the custom diamond engagement ring Prince Harry used to propose. Harry designed the piece, which was then made by court jewelers Cleave and Company using one diamond sourced from Botswana and two smaller stones from Princess Diana’s collection.

“The ring is obviously yellow gold because that’s [Markle’s] favorite and the main stone itself I sourced from Botswana and the little diamonds on either side are from my mother’s jewelry collection, to make sure that she’s with us on this crazy journey together,” Harry said during the couple’s first sit-down interview with the BBC.

During their wedding ceremony, the bride and groom exchanged rings made by Cleave and Company. Meghan’s ring was created out of Welsh Gold, and Harry’s ring is a platinum band, according to the Palace.

THE WEDDING DATE AND TIME

The wedding took place on May 19, 2018. The ceremony began at 12 p.m. BST (7 a.m. ET), followed by a carriage procession through Windsor at 1 p.m. BST, (8 a.m. ET).

THE CEREMONY

Meghan and Harry’s gorgeous wedding ceremony took place at St. George’s Chapel at Windsor Castle. After walking down the aisle with her bridesmaids, page boys, and later Prince Charle, Meghan met her groom at the altar of St. George’s Chapel. The Most Reverend Michael Bruce Curry delivered a rousing sermon during the ceremony, and the bride and groom said their vows and exchanged rings.

Meghan and Harry could have been married in Westminster Abbey had they decided to. A spokesman for the Abbey confirmed that their marriage could take place in one of the world’s most famous churches thanks to a recent ruling by the Church of England. “The Abbey follows the General Synod Ruling of 2002,” the spokesperson said. “Since then it has been possible for divorced people to be married in the Church of England.”

Many members of the British royal family, including Prince Edward, have been married at the chapel. “Prince Harry and Ms. Markle are delighted that the beautiful grounds of Windsor Castle will be where they begin their lives together as a married couple,” it reads.

Comments

comments